Words…

Listening to the wind

Swirling around my frozen face

My ears strain for the last beat

But the fury of the rain hides your call

Dry lips breathe your name

Sound of fading footsteps in the distance

The last word

A trail of misconceptions

Burning through my soul

The final word

A sword

Tearing through the sweet membranes

Of our memories

Poison words

I hear their breathing

Heaving chest pressed on my palms

I feel them beckoning

Soothing words

Mesmerized with their sweet offerings

Held captive

They scream their demands

Holding my heart for ransom

Chaining me with my desires

I must pay the ultimate prize

A prisoner of my fears

Simple words

I seek my freedom

I seek to dance

Like a paintbrush on the canvas

Of your love

I seek acceptance

A whisper of joy

Sweet words

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • amira~j  On February 23, 2011 at 5:26 pm

    Woooow! Amazing! Love it!

  • wambuiwairua  On February 23, 2011 at 5:51 pm

    This is beautiful. I held my breath, let it out, then held it all over again as I reread. So much goes on beneath frozen faces; you drew it all out with you piece.

  • Case2Rising  On February 24, 2011 at 7:17 am

    The last word, a sword. That made me feel a pain in my chest

  • baru  On March 6, 2011 at 8:39 pm

    the personas sense of loss is almost solid. I can almost feel his despair as the loved one walks away despite his pleas. The rain, frozen wind, heaving chest all set a befitting mood for the poem.

Leave a Reply

