I see…

Tribute to my Late Grandmother- Madam

 

I see blood,

And rivers of wasted tears

The sun’s blinding rays, on these soulless eyes

I see her last breath,

As they lay her to rest

Unformed words, caught in the winter gale

I see the spirit

Of her former self

A sigh of relief, the chains have been released

I see the past,

A smoky mist fading in the west

Bleeding feet, rocky paths, thorny leaves

I see the road, a worn out path

Ghosts of my ancestors, plodding through

I see a blinding smile,

Her face at peace, embracing her demise

I see dreams, floating around

Wrapped in hope’s rainbow ribbons

I see victory, the scent of the rain

Cleansing through my deepest fears

I see me,

My head held high

Swaying to the earth’s song

I hear her whisper

Awake my child,

It’s the beginning of a new dawn

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • amondia  On December 15, 2010 at 1:55 pm

    Beautiful writing.

  • Kabee  On December 17, 2010 at 3:21 pm

    awesome.

  • aabrain  On December 18, 2010 at 5:47 pm

    good metaphors :” a blinding smile, Her face embracing demise,…”
    Your saying:”I see me,
    My head held high
    Swaying to the earth’s song”
    portrays a real poetess.

Leave a Reply

