Packing up/Suitcase of Deceit

Stood there with your half-smile.

Sitting on the bed, packing your bags.

Looking at me with those cool eyes,

A shirt here, a sock there.

Leaning your fine frame against the door,

Tied in with the pieces of my life

One foot already through the next open door

I pack the lies, folded with the ties

Carelessly caressing your jaw

In this corner a toothbrush, boxed in with the promises

Feeling like you’re stroking my skin

I pack away the time it took me to believe,

Giving me that sexy side eye.

Under the sweater that warmed my heart

Your lips moving, my heart clinging on every word.

I see the time it took you to deceive

I’m caught staring at their soft curve

In the threads of your favourite shirt

Almost imagine their smooth feel

All the traces of our love, neatly folded

But those lips deliver fatal blows;

All that was us, heaped in a stack

Said with lightness, it’s like a summer breeze.

Packed tightly, like all your sleaze

Your attitude is cool, like we’re talking the weather.

Shed off the baggage, it’s time to fly

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Wamathai  On December 1, 2010 at 2:54 pm

    ‘Your attitude is cool, like weโ€™re talking the weather.

    Shed off the baggage, itโ€™s time to fly’

    Lovely piece, i especially like the ending..

  • Lavender  On December 1, 2010 at 3:29 pm

    Awesome piece; it’s like I was there. Wish I were half the poet you are! ๐Ÿ™‚

  • Amondi  On December 1, 2010 at 4:55 pm

    I like, I like, I like… my gal has come of age (remember?) proud of you!

    • bintimswahili  On December 1, 2010 at 5:01 pm

      Yes! Yes! Yes!! With you guys always supporting me. Thanks ๐Ÿ™‚

  • Amira~j  On December 2, 2010 at 6:38 pm

    wooow amazing piece!!! i love it!!!

  • littlenajma  On December 4, 2010 at 2:44 pm

    The emotion is so raw.I was carried away.

    • bintimswahili  On December 6, 2010 at 5:33 am

      Glad you enjoyed.. And welcome to my blog.. Hoping to read more from yours ๐Ÿ™‚

  • QQ  On December 4, 2010 at 6:32 pm

    Wow. Nice.

    • bintimswahili  On December 6, 2010 at 5:42 am

      Thanks.. ๐Ÿ™‚ And welcome back to blogging, you’d been quiet!

  • panafricandreamer  On December 7, 2010 at 12:51 am

    I just discovered your stuff and i’m blown away…such vivid imagery!

  • lostinthot  On January 13, 2011 at 11:14 am

    I’ve never been to your blog before and it was a brilliant surprise ๐Ÿ™‚
    Really neat piece, there. Why didn’t we analyse such pieces in high school? More people would have loved poetry if we had.

    • bintimswahili  On January 13, 2011 at 11:44 am

      Wow, thanks.. Coming from you a master of words, that is indeed high praise.. I think what we learned in school is what’s helping us come up with stuff that can be appreciated by more people..

Leave a Reply

