The Emancipation of Danny Boy

A Monologue

“Look at me! Look into these eyes Danny boy, these eyes that have seen you in every way! I have been in this house day in day out taking care of this family, while I let you go out there and live your dream. I have been a supportive wife, Danny, for 5 fucking years. Lord knows I have been a good wife. And now just because my ass isn’t tight anymore, and YOUR kids that I carried for 9 months have made my stomach a bit wobbly you think you can sit there and tell me that you think this isn’t working anymore?

What? Now you think you’re too good for me? Remember when I met you Danny boy? Remember how lost you were getting in all sorts of trouble with that group of riffraff you hang with? You were dead Danny boy. Dead with despair and hopelessness. An empty pool of bitterness and anger. Nobody loved you your whole life Danny. Nobody showed you that you were worth something until I came along. And I loved you from the first moment I lay my eyes on you. Even when you pretended to be a hard man Danny boy, I saw the sadness in your eyes. I saw the sweetness and the yearning that you tried to hide and I knew you needed me. And I have loved you with all your faults since then.

But now you think cos you wear them fancy clothes and go to fancy restaurants with those leeches you call your friends, who would cheat you and steal from you if you turned your back for a minute, then now I am beneath you? I got news for you Danny boy, you might have hidden behind the glitter and the shine, but I know you Danny boy. I know what you carry inside you. I know what you’re capable of. I seen in your soul and it’s a mirror of my own. So don’t you go thinking that just because the world now smiles at you that you are one of them. Me and you Danny boy, we two of a kind. We the only two people in the world who can understand us. So you can go to your fancy women, the whores who would suck a rabid dick for money, but remember this Danny, I made you who you are. Without me, you would never believe in what you could become. And I made sacrifices so that you can get ahead.

Remember, how talented I was. I brought tears in your eyes with my singing Danny boy. Remember the first time we saw each other? You said my voice was like an angel. You said that I soothed all the demons inside of you. And I would have made it too. But I gave all that up so that I could work to support us. And I didn’t mind. A good woman stands by her man.  So I worked hard, Danny boy 2 jobs, 3  sometimes so that we save enough money for you. I fed you and your kids so that you can be free of worries and build your business. How many times you lost our money, no MY money in one of your schemes? But I loved you Danny boy, and I stood by you and worked hard for you! But now your dream has come true you want to discard me like last week’s used condom? I won’t allow it Danny boy, NO WAY!!

What happened to us? Remember how we used to whisper at night? How we’d lay in each others arms after making love and make plans for our future. We said we would conquer the world, me and you and you said I was your Queen Danny boy, remember that? We can still have that can’t we Danny boy? Can’t we Danny? You still love me don’t you? I know underneath you still love me. You used to call me you good luck charm. I can still be that. Your white dove.

You hear that, Danny boy? DANNY! DANNY! DANNY BOY?”

Almost like she has woken up from a dream, she turns towards him and for the first time  notices the red around her. She vaguely wondered what it was.  Danny boy was sprawled on the bed, wearing his boxers. On his face was  a look of mocking amusement, almost like he was daring her. His abdomen was the defied the calmness on his face, a storm of flesh ribbons decorating the bed.

She looked at the bloody knife still clutched in her hands in puzzlement.  She doesn’t remember how it had gotten there.  She stared at it for a moment before sanity finally returned.

Light fades.

Wailing begins.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • amondia  On September 8, 2010 at 11:45 am

    Beautiful writing Aisha! Very involving. I like!

  • David  On September 9, 2010 at 7:02 am

    *very touchy*
    the good ones always have awful endings!

Leave a Reply

