Section 27/4

Section 27/4 of the proposed constitution states:

“The State shall not discriminate directly or indirectly against any person on
any ground, including race, sex, pregnancy, marital status, health status,
ethnic or social origin, colour, age, disability, religion, conscience, belief,
culture, dress, language or birth.”

I’m not gonna front. I really didn’t know what this section said verbatim before last week. Like most Kenyans, after the 1st read of the proposed constitution, I got fixated on the “contentious” issues. But last week, I heard one of our soon to be most expensive civil servants,  campaigning against the proposed constitution on TV. The MPig gentleman, claimed that Section 27/4 of the draft constitution will allow for gay marriage.  I wasn’t sure I’d heard him right so I waited for the next bulletin. And there it was again. I wondered how I had missed such a crucial part of this document. So I had to dig out my copy and confirm. As you can see, there’s nothing saying that.

Before I continue, lemmi first say this post is not about gay marriages nor is it an article arguing the merits or demerits of the proposed constitution. This is my plea for sanity amongst Kenyans.

The official month of civic education started 2 weeks ago, but the distorted views and half-truths from both sides had started way before that. I consider myself amongst the enlightened Kenyans.  I have a lot of access to documents that I can read for myself and make informed choices. And yet I wasn’t sure what Section 27/4 actually said.  Now imagine the guy in the remote village in North Eastern province who’s only source of info as far as such matters go are their local leaders.And some of these leaders are blatantly lying about it.

I also have an issue with the media. This clip was shown over and over. Where does the responsibility of a journalist begin? Fine, let’s say he/she was like me and wasn’t sure what that section said. What happened to research? What about calling out this guy for lying to the public? I had a conversation with a journalist the other day and I raised my concern. He told me that as much as they try to be impartial, journalists are like every other Kenyan with their preferences and prejudices. I understand that.  But I believe the media has a responsibility to the public. Good journalism demands it of them. But most importantly patriotism expects it from them.

We have come to a point where everyone has to decide their first priority is Kenya. In 2007 we all forgot this. Let’s not allow this to happen again.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a Reply

