Allow me to introduce myself..

This statement always reminds me of a clip that came out when Kenyan musician the late E-sir passed on and he was in a press conference and he says “For those who don’t know me, allow me to introduce myself.” I don’t know why that moment stuck in my mind.

But I digress.

I love words. I am that girl who reads the books that other people  say are boring. I am that girl who spends her lunch hour browsing through bookshops. As long as it’s written, I will read it. Even if it’s just once. I’m very good at reading. But here I find out if I’m any good at writing.

This is not my first time blogging. I had another blog, but for one reason or another I decided to close that and start a new one. Sort of a symbol of new beginnings as far as my writing is concerned. The blog was anonymous so that made it easy for me, since there was no one to criticize it. It was a lot more personal and a lot less serious. More like a journal. So here I try my hand at serious writing. I’m not going to limit myself in what I choose to write. But hopefully I will eventually find my niche.

My deep gratitude for staying on and reading.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Jay  On June 9, 2010 at 7:28 am

    This is very brave Aisha! I like it… I remember how we used to pass books under the desk in class…Me,you and Jackie Irimu in form one… I speak what I think and I’ve been asked to write it but seeing as I dont have the confidence.I cave. BUT,last Sunday,I entered a journal for the first time early in the morning then I read it later in the day and I was amused. I think I should give it a chance more often. Keep up the good work… I will always read.

Leave a Reply

